Political news
Political Leaders
Political History
The Constitution

Nigerian Government

The Federal Republic of Nigeria consists of thirty-six states, and the Federal Capital Territory in Abuja. There are also 774 local government councils in the Country.

Nigeria is a federal republic and runs the presidential system of government modelled closely to what obtains largely in other presidential democracies. The Presidential system is the executive arm of government, implementing legislations instituted by the bicameral National Assembly and processes declared by the Judiciary.

The Presidency is headed by the President who is also the Commander in-chief of all the armed forces of the country. He oversees the day-to-day running of the affairs of the nation assisted by Ministers, Special Assistants, Special Advisers and other relevant government functionaries with supervisory roles over areas of government.

The President is also the Head of State and wields both executive and ceremonial powers and functions. The position of President in Nigeria is usually open to election and Presidents are in power for a term of 4 years in the first instance. A person can have a maximum of two terms each of four years and must step down at the end of the second term.

The Vice President holds the same powers as the President but can only exercise these in the absence of the President or as directed by the President or the National Assembly.

The running of the government is the function of the Federal Executive Council which includes the President, Vice-President and the Ministers.

In Nigeria, there are 19 Federal Ministries, covering all relevant sectors of the polity. Each has a Minister and in some cases, an additional Minister of State at the helm of affairs. These appointments are made by the President. The Permanent Secretary is the accounting officer and administrative head of each ministry, while the Head of Service of the federation is the administrative head of the Civil Service.

The Federal Ministries:

Federal Ministry of Agriculture & Water Resources
Federal Ministry of Commerce and Industry
Federal Ministry of Culture, Tourism and National Orientation
Federal Ministry of Defence
Federal Ministry of Education
Federal Ministry of Energy
Federal Ministry of Environment, Housing and Urban Development
Federal Ministry of Finance
Federal Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Federal Ministry of Health
Federal Ministry of Information & Communications
Federal Ministry of Interior
Federal Ministry of Justice
Federal Ministry of Labour
Federal Ministry of Mines and Steel Development
Federal Ministry of Science and Technology
Federal Ministry of Transportation
Federal Ministry of Women Affairs
Federal Ministry of Youth Development

Kingdoms of Nigeria is a Nigerian organization dedicated to advancing Nigeria, its people and their rich and diverse culture. Kingdoms of Nigeria is always interested in receiving information comments and suggestions from positive patrons (especially Nigerians at home or in Diaspora). All communications with Kingdoms of Nigeria will be subject to the Kingdoms of Nigeria privacy policy and Legal Notices available on this web site.